ViFaPharm
 
 
 
Virtual Library of Pharmacy: Project Description
 
The special subject collection of Braunschweig University Library is the most extensive collection of pharmaceutical literature in Central Europe. A considerable proportion of readers originates from outside the region; the library handles search requests from scientific and professional customers throughout Germany. The goal of the Virtual Library of Pharmacy is to develop, document, archive and make available a far greater range of electronic documents and information sources than before. In order to achieve this, the library cooperates with suitable partners and continually works to improve its systems of access to pharmaceutical information of all kinds.
 
This means that conventional and electronic documents, online objects and database contents can be found and accessed by using a single point of entry. In case that a search does not immediately yield the desired result, the facilities of the special subject collection ensure that any document can be provided quickly.
 
Together with our partners - among others, academic departments, hospital pharmacies, publishers and libraries - we create, optimize and develop internet facilities, make available relevant sources of information, develop databases and provide digital full texts and electronic subject information.
 
Activities
 
Articles Database: At Braunschweig University Library, the tables of contents of pharmaceutical journals are scanned, transferred into suitable database formats, and integrated into the Online Contents Database of the GBV (Library Consortium of Northern Germany). By providing this service, Braunschweig University Library is entitled to make available the pharmaceutical section of the Online Contents Database - including journal contents scanned and archived by other companies - to all users. The database is being extended to include the tables of contents of conference proceedings etc. Online Contents Database.
 
Internet Harvesting: Journal contents and other documents available in the internet are read automatically. This is done by using "harvest gatherers," which collect article data and abstracts stored on pharmacy journal homepages.
 
Digitization: Apart from digitizing a large number of titles no longer copyrighted, we have successfully negotiated with copyright holders to digitize more recent titles as well. A considerable number of electronic documents will be provided, which will extend the product range of the Virtual Library in a particularly attractive way. Braunschweig Digital Library.
 
Database for Internet Sources: Braunschweig University Library provides a large number of Pharmacy Internet Sources. The database through which these are accessed - based on allegro-C - is part of the internet guide CoOL (Catalogue of Object Links) developed at Braunschweig University Library. The database will be extended, access will be improved and integrated into a pharmacy-related meta search engine.
 
Online Publication System Pharmacy: Pharmacy publications from throughout Germany are provided and archived with the help of an online publishing system. The Virtual Library of Pharmacy provides a server and assists in creating an electronic version that can be archived permanently.
 
Meta Search Engine: The Virtual Library of Pharmacy participates in developing a meta search engine, which will browse data sources of all kinds and present conventionakl and electronic documents, internet objects and database contents within one single interface.
 

 
   

 
© UB Braunschweig/Germany Updated 05.04.2011

ViFaPharm
 
 
 
Virtuelle Fachbibliothek Pharmazie - Projektbeschreibung
 
Das Sondersammelgebiet Pharmazie der Universitätsbibliothek Braunschweig besitzt die in Mitteleuropa größte Literatursammlung des Faches. Die überregionale Nutzung ist erfreulich hoch, bundesweite Anfragen aus Forschung, Lehre und Praxis werden erledigt. In der Virtuellen Fachbibliothek Pharmazie sollen weit umfangreicher als bisher elektronische Dokumente und Informationsangebote jeglicher Art in Kooperation mit geeigneten Partnern erstellt, in vielfältiger Hinsicht erschlossen, archiviert und über ein leistungsfähiges Zugangssystem auffindbar gemacht werden.
 
So werden in einem einzigen Zugriff konventionelle und elektronische Dokumente, Internetobjekte und Datenbankinhalte gefunden und zugänglich gemacht. Für den Fall, daß das Rechercherergebnis nicht unmittelbar zum vollständigen elektronischen Dokument führt, ist das Gewünschte über das Sondersammelgebiet bequem bestellbar.
 
Gemeinsam mit Kooperationspartnern, u.a. Hochschulinstituten der Pharmazie, den Wissenschaftlichen Fachgesellschaften, Krankenhausapotheken, Verlagen und Bibliotheken werden Internetangebote eingerichtet, optimiert und ausgebaut, relevante Quellen erschlossen, Datenbanken erstellt, elektronische Volltexte und elektronische Fachinformation bereitgestellt und archiviert.
 
Aktivitäten
 
Aufsatzdatenbank: In der Universitätsbibliothek Braunschweig werden Inhaltsverzeichnisse von pharmazeutischen Zeitschriften durch Scannen, Texterkennung und Umwandlung in geeignete Datenbankformate erfaßt und in die Online-Contents-Datenbank des GBV (Gemeinsamen Bibliotheksverbundes) eingebracht. Durch diese Erfassungsarbeit erwirbt die UB Braunschweig das Recht den kompletten - auch den von einer Firma erfaßten - pharmazeutischen Bestand der Online-Contents-Datenbank überregional frei zur Verfügung zu stellen. Die Datenbank wird um Inhaltsverzeichnisse von Konferenzberichten etc. erweitert. Internet-Harvesting: Im Internet zugängliche Zeitschrifteninhaltsverzeichnisse und andere Dokumente werden automatisch erfaßt. Dazu werden 'Harvest-Gatherer' konfiguriert, die automatisiert Aufsatzdaten und Abstracts auf den Homepages von Pharmaziezeitschriften 'einsammeln'.
 
Digitalisierung: Neben der umfangreichen Digitalisierung urheberrechtlich unbedenklicher Titel sind erfolgversprechende Gespräche mit Copyright-Inhabern geführt worden, die es erlauben, auch aktuelle Titel zu digitalisieren. Hier wird ein umfangreicher Bestand fachrelevanter elektronischer Dokumente aufgebaut werden, der zugleich ein besonders attraktives Angebot in der Palette der Virtuellen Fachbibliothek Pharmazie ausmacht: Digitale Bibliothek Braunschweig.
 
Datenbank für Internetquellen: Die UB Braunschweig verfügt über eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Internetobjekten der Pharmazie. Die zugrundeliegende Datenbank - auf allegro-C basierend - gehört zum Internetorientierungssystem CoOL der UB Braunschweig. Die Datenbank wird erweitert, die Erschließung verbessert und in eine Metasuchmaschine zur Pharmazie eingebunden. Darüber hinaus kooperiert die Virtuelle Fachbibliothek Pharmazie mit dem Informationsverbund der Apothekerkammern - AMINO - , an dem Einrichtungen aus zwölf Bundesländern beteiligt sind. Diese nutzen und pflegen gemeinsam eine Reihe von Fachdatenbanken für die Arzneimittelinformation.
 
Online-Publikationssystem Pharmazie: Pharmazeutische Publikationen aus ganz Deutschland werden in Zusammenarbeit mit den Kooperationspartnern in einem Online- Publikationssystem elektronisch zur Verfügung gestellt und archiviert. Dabei wird innerhalb der Virtuellen Fachbibliothek Pharmazie ein Server bereitgestellt und auch Hilfestellung gewährt, um eine dauerhaft archivierbare elektronische Version zu erzeugen.
 
 

 
   

 
© UB Braunschweig/Germany Stand 24.11.2003